Edit on GitHub

Teams

You can create teams with one or more team members. The team members are also called collaborators, and you can assign different roles to them. The projects that you create in your team's page will be accessible to all members of the team.

In this page, you will learn about:

Create a team

Click on the drop down next to Personal. All the teams that you have created so far will be listed within Teams in the drop down menu. If you have not created any team so far, this list will be empty.

To create a new team, click on Create a team.

You will be asked to enter the URL namespace for your team. Enter a unique name. The URL for your team will be formed using this name.

Then, click the Create team button on the top right corner.

Invite collaborators

To add collaborators, enter their email addresses. Each collaborator can be assigned the Admin, Edit, or View role. An email invite will be sent to each invitee. Then, click on Send invites and close.

You can also click on Skip and close to skip adding collaborators while creating the team, and add them later by accessing team settings.

Roles

Team members or collaborators can have the following roles:

  • Viewers have read-only access to the projects created by other team members.
  • Editors can create and edit the team's projects.
  • Admins have full access to the team's projects and settings. They can add (invite) and remove collaborators as well as change team settings such as cloud credentials (data remotes).
  • An additional role Visitor exists for anonymous users who can open a public project.

DVC Studio does not have the concept of an Owner role. The user who creates the team has the Admin role. The privileges of such an admin is the same as that of any other collaborator who has been assigned the Admin role.

If your Git account does not have write access on the Git repository connected to a project, you cannot push changes (e.g., new experiments) to the repository even if the project belongs to a team where you are an Editor or Admin.

Privileges to create, open and access the team's projects

FeatureVisitorViewerEditorAdmin
Open a team's projectYes*YesYesYes
Apply filtersYes*YesYesYes
Show / hide columnsYes*YesYesYes
Save the project filters and columns settingsNoNoYesYes
View CML reportsNoNoYesYes
Share a projectNoNoYesYes
Add a new projectNoNoYesYes
Re-import repositoryNoNoYesYes
Delete a projectNoNoYesYes

*Visitors can access only the public projects of the team.

Privileges to manage project settings

FeatureVisitorViewerEditorAdmin
Change project nameNoNoYesYes
Specify project directoryNoNoYesYes
Use existing cloud / data remote credentialsNoNoYesYes
Configure cloud / data remote credentialsNoNoNoYes
Manage columnsNoNoYesYes

Privileges in the team's model registry

FeatureVisitorViewerEditorAdmin
Access a team's models dashboardNoYesYesYes
Access a team's model details pageNoYesYesYes
Perform model actions in the team's model registry
- add / deprecate models
- register / deregsiter versions
- assign / unassign stages
NoYes*Yes*Yes*

*All team members can submit model actions in DVC Studio. But for a team member's actions to successfully complete, the team member must have write access in the Git repository from where the model was added. This is because any model action constitutes writing a Git commit, pull/merge request or tag to the Git repository. If the team member does not have this write access, then the model action will fail.

Privileges to manage the team

FeatureVisitorViewerEditorAdmin
Manage team settingsNoNoNoYes
Manage team collaboratorsNoNoNoYes
Manage team plan and billingNoNoNoYes
Delete a teamNoNoNoYes

Manage your team and its projects

Once you have created the team, the team's workspace opens up.

In this workspace, there are 3 pages - Projects, Models and Settings.

Projects

This is the projects dashboard for the team. All the projects on this dashboard are accessible to all members (collaborators) of the team.

To add a project to this dashboard, click on Add a project. The process for adding a project is the same as that for adding personal projects (instructions).

Models

This is the models dashboard for the team. All the models on this dashboard are accessible to all members (collaborators) of the team.

To add a model to this dashboard, click on Add a model. The process for adding a model is the same as that for adding personal models (instructions).

Settings

In the team settings page, you can change the team name, add credentials for the data remotes, and delete the team. Note that these settings are applicable to the team and are thus different from project settings.

Additionally, you can also manage connections to self-hosted GitLab servers, edit collaborators and change your team plan.

Manage connections to self-hosted GitLab servers

If your team’s Git repositories are on a self-hosted GitLab server, you can go to the GitLab connections section of the team settings page to set up a connection to this server. Once you set up the connection, all your team members can connect to the Git repositories on this server. For more details, refer to Custom GitLab Server Connection.

Edit collaborators

To manage the collaborators (team members) of your team, go to the Collaborators section of the team settings page. Here you can invite new team members as well as remove or change the roles of existing team members.

The number of collaborators in your team depends on your team plan. By default, all teams are on the Free plan, and can have 2 collaborators. To add more collaborators, upgrade to the Basic or Enterprise plans.

All collaborators and pending invites get counted in the subscription. Suppose you have subscribed for a 10 member team. If you have 5 members who have accepted your team invite and 3 pending invites, then you will have 2 remaining seats. This means that you can invite 2 more collaborators. At this point, if you remove any one team member or pending invite, that seat becomes available and so you will have 3 remaining seats.

Change your team plan and team size

Your team can be in the Free, Basic or Enterprise plan. All newly created teams are on the Free plan. This plan is designed for teams that are starting out: you can invite one other team member and import as many repositories as you want. For more advanced collaboration, you can switch to the Basic or Enterprise plans. A detailed comparison of the different plans can be found in the DVC Studio pricing page.

  • To upgrade from the Free plan to the Basic or Enterprise plan or to downgrade your team plan, refer to the section on changing your team plan.

  • To change the number of seats in your Basic plan, refer to the section on changing your team size.

Content

πŸ› Found an issue? Let us know! Or fix it:

Edit on GitHub

❓ Have a question? Join our chat, we will help you:

Discord Chat