Edit on GitHub

Teams

You can define teams with one or more team members. The team members are also called collaborators, and you can assign different roles to them. The views that you create in your team's page will be accessible to all members of the team.

In this section, you will:

Create a team

To create a team, click on the drop down next to Personal. All the teams that you have created so far will be listed within "Teams" in the drop down menu. If you have not created any team so far, this list will be empty. Now, click on Create a team.

You will be asked to enter the URL namespace for your team. Enter a unique name. The URL for your team will be formed using this name.

Then, click the Create team button on the top right corner.

Invite collaborators

The next step is to invite the team members (or collaborators) for your team. You can also choose to skip adding collaborators at this point. For this, click on Skip and Close on the top right corner. You will be able to add collaborators by accessing team settings later.

If you wish to add collaborators now, enter their email addresses. An email invite will be sent to each invitee, and they will have to join using their GitHub, GitLab or Bitbucket account.

You can add multiple collaborators. Each collaborator can be assigned the Admin, Edit, or View role. Refer to the Roles section below for more details about the roles.

Once you have added the people that you wish to add to your team, click on Send Invites and Close on the top right corner.

Roles

Team members or collaborators can have the View, Edit or Admin roles. Viewers have read-only access to the views created by other team members. Editors can create and edit the team's views. And admins have full access to the team's views and settings. They can add (invite) and remove collaborators as well as change team settings such as cloud credentials (data remotes).

DVC Studio does not have the concept of an Owner role. The user who creates the team has the Admin role. The privileges of such an admin is the same as that of any other collaborator who has been assigned the Admin role.

An additional role Visitor exists for anonymous users who can open a public view.

Privileges to create, open and access the team's views

FeatureVisitorViewerEditorAdmin
Open a team's viewYes*YesYesYes
Apply filtersYes*YesYesYes
Show / hide columnsYes*YesYesYes
Save the view filters and columns settingsNoNoYesYes
Run experimentsNoNoYesYes
View CML reportsNoNoYesYes
Share a viewNoNoYesYes
Add a new viewNoNoYesYes
Force repository importNoNoYesYes
Delete a viewNoNoYesYes

*Visitors can access only the public views of the team.

Privileges to manage view settings

FeatureVisitorViewerEditorAdmin
Change view nameNoNoYesYes
Specify project directoryNoNoYesYes
Use existing cloud / data remote credentialsNoNoYesYes
Configure cloud / data remote credentialsNoNoNoYes
Manage mandatory columns (tracking scope)NoNoYesYes
Manage custom filesNoNoYesYes

Privileges to manage the team

FeatureVisitorViewerEditorAdmin
Manage team settingsNoNoNoYes
Manage team collaboratorsNoNoNoYes
Delete a teamNoNoNoYes

Manage your team and its views

Once you have created the team, the team's page opens up.

On this page, you can perform three types of tasks:

  • Add a view. Click on the View menu item to add views to the team's page. The process for adding a view is the same as that for adding personal views (instructions). However, the views that you create within the team will be accessible to all members (collaborators) of the team.

  • Edit collaborators. You can click on the Team menu item to edit the collaborators in the team.

  • Change settings. Finally, you can click on the Settings menu item to change the team name, add credentials for the data remotes, and delete the team. Note that these settings are applicable to the team and are thus different from view settings.

Content

🐛 Found an issue? Let us know! Or fix it:

Edit on GitHub

Have a question? Join our chat, we will help you:

Discord Chat